Khaled Babbou elected President of Rugby Africa

Rugby Africa


Today, March 2, 2019, in Marrakech, was held the 13th General Assembly of Rugby Africa & here are the highlights:

The elections of the new Executive Committee begin after the quorum is reached, the scrutineers appointed and the confirmed candidates.

The officers of the Executive Board are elected ex officio, unopposed:

President: Khaled Babbou (Tunisia)
Vice President: Andrew Owor (Uganda)
Treasurer: Tano Elvis (Ivory Coast)
Secretary General: Jurie Roux (South Africa)

The 27 voting members (26 present + 1 proxy) elect, by secret ballot, the 7 officers of the following Executive Committee:

Rolande Boro (Burkina Faso) with 26 votes
Aaron Jani (Zimbabwe) with 25 votes
Clement Sinkamba (Zambia) with 23 votes
Nasser Bougja (Morocco) with 22 votes
Herman M’Bonyo (DRC) with 21 votes
Paulina Lanco (Burundi) with 19 votes
Guedel N’Diaye (Senegal) with 18 votes

The affiliation of Egypt is voted by show of hands with 25 votes in favor.

Abdelaziz Bougja, outgoing President, is elected Honorary President unanimously.

“I’m very glad that the elections went on well and that most of the countries accepted our nominations and gave us the mandate to lead Rugby Africa for the next four years. We think with our strategy we can work together with all the different members of Rugby Africa and we can accelerate the growth of the Game on the continent,” commented the newly elected Vice-President Andrew Owor.

Khaled Babbou, new President of Rugby Africa, congratulates Abdelaziz Bougja and his team for the fantastic work done, before closing the General Assembly with the slogan for the following: “In Africa, we remain united, Efficient, all together! “.